🇨🇦Pilot. The strongest remaining claim is a test or pilot. That is not evidence of live production.
Canadian bank. Joined GPSG in 2016 and was named in Ripple’s June 2016 network announcement. Later community lists calling CIBC a live ODL user are stronger than the primary sources reviewed here.
Named products / networks / assets: GPSG · Ripple network
Claims and evidence
Each claim is stored at project level. Integrated means a capability was implemented; live requires evidence of actual operation.
Ripple partnershipPilot
CIBC joined the Global Payments Steering Group as a new member in 2016 and was listed among banks adopting Ripple for cross-border payments.
Geographic basis: Headquarters in CA. Activity countries are those named in the cited announcement, not the bank’s full branch network. · Activity: Canada
Uncertainty: No reviewed primary source states that CIBC uses XRP as a bridge asset.
Company announcement
Major Banks Launch Global Payments Steering Group
Ripple · published 2016-09-23 · checked 2026-09-09
Bank of America Merrill Lynch, Santander, UniCredit, Standard Chartered, Westpac Banking Corporation, and Royal Bank of Canada are the founding members of the Global Payments Steering Group. CIBC will also join as a new member. The group oversees Ripple payment transaction rules and standards. The release does not mention XRP.
Governance/standards group membership is not evidence of live XRP or even live xCurrent production at each bank. Santander has a separate One Pay FX record.
More Financial Institutions Join Ripple’s Global Network
Ripple · published 2016-06-03 · checked 2026-09-09
Santander, UniCredit, UBS, ReiseBank, CIBC, National Bank of Abu Dhabi (NBAD), and ATB Financial are among the latest banks to adopt Ripple to improve their cross-border payments. Ripple said the majority had transferred actual money via Ripple and were aiming for commercial production.
2016 announcement. Commercial continuity in 2026 is not established. No XRP claim.
Amazon Web Services · publication date not stated · checked 2026-09-09
AWS lists RippleNet members including Santander (USA), Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, Kotak Mahindra Bank, Itaú Unibanco, IndusInd, InstaReM, BeeTech, Zip Remit, LianLian, RAKBANK, IFX, TransferGo, Currencies Direct, Airwallex, SEB, SBI Remit, Siam Commercial Bank and Krungsri.
Vendor case-study list, undated. Useful corroboration of names Ripple has published; not a current live-status census.
Ripple’s 2016 customer announcement included CIBC among institutions adopting Ripple and aiming for commercial production of cross-border payments.
Geographic basis: Named activity in CA. · Activity: Canada
Uncertainty: No reviewed primary source states that CIBC uses XRP as a bridge asset.
Company announcement
Major Banks Launch Global Payments Steering Group
Ripple · published 2016-09-23 · checked 2026-09-09
Bank of America Merrill Lynch, Santander, UniCredit, Standard Chartered, Westpac Banking Corporation, and Royal Bank of Canada are the founding members of the Global Payments Steering Group. CIBC will also join as a new member. The group oversees Ripple payment transaction rules and standards. The release does not mention XRP.
Governance/standards group membership is not evidence of live XRP or even live xCurrent production at each bank. Santander has a separate One Pay FX record.
More Financial Institutions Join Ripple’s Global Network
Ripple · published 2016-06-03 · checked 2026-09-09
Santander, UniCredit, UBS, ReiseBank, CIBC, National Bank of Abu Dhabi (NBAD), and ATB Financial are among the latest banks to adopt Ripple to improve their cross-border payments. Ripple said the majority had transferred actual money via Ripple and were aiming for commercial production.
2016 announcement. Commercial continuity in 2026 is not established. No XRP claim.
Amazon Web Services · publication date not stated · checked 2026-09-09
AWS lists RippleNet members including Santander (USA), Canadian Imperial Bank of Commerce, Kotak Mahindra Bank, Itaú Unibanco, IndusInd, InstaReM, BeeTech, Zip Remit, LianLian, RAKBANK, IFX, TransferGo, Currencies Direct, Airwallex, SEB, SBI Remit, Siam Commercial Bank and Krungsri.
Vendor case-study list, undated. Useful corroboration of names Ripple has published; not a current live-status census.
Later commercial status was not independently confirmed for this release.
X-Index (xindex.info) is an independent community research directory. v0.9.9 adds Documents from a user-supplied PDF list: ECB 2015 virtual-currency analysis, Ripple’s 2021 House of Lords evidence, Palau PSC press, a World Bank CBDC energy note citing Ripple’s XRP table, and academic papers (Jani, Mokeeva/Novosibirsk lab cite, Firouzi, etc.) labeled Academic — not institutional endorsement. A 2018 student overview is not a bank customer. v0.9.8 adds Shariyah Review Bureau’s March 2022 Sharia Analysis of Ripple/XRP (alongside the existing XRP Compliant screen) and Ripple’s 2023–2024 seat on the BIS CPMI PIE task force — a historical industry-committee membership, not a current listing and not XRP as a G20 rail. v0.9.7 adds a Documents catalog of institutional and business pages that actually name Ripple, XRPL, or XRP — a caption or screenshot is not the source. Flags are headquarters plus sourced activity countries. A BRICS or OPEC mark is country membership, not a bloc partnership. A past announcement is not a current-day connection. Counts are documented organizations in this database, not exhaustive national adoption. Last updated 2026-09-09. Not affiliated with Ripple.